Admin and poofloors in Korea

Last night my toilet backed up and overflowed.

I’ve been living on my own since I started varsity, like five years ago. I have lived in precisely four houses where my parents aren’t around to save me when shit goes pear shaped. I’ve learned to wash my clothes, cook my meals, watched movies with girls, friends, drunk resmates, siblings and the like in houses that were actually mine in someway or form.

And I have never, in my life had a freaking toilet back up on me. Did you know what that looks like?

Image

 

…no it wasn’t this bad, but still.

It was four in the morning when I got up visit the kimchi bowl and, against my better hindsight, proceeded to flush the chain. 

Unleashing

hell

on earth.

No, it really wasn’t that bad, but I got to learn why there’s a plunger conspicuously placed next to my can. The john backed up to the brim before I started plunging. As it was draining, I flushed it again (idiot) and it proceeded to basically turn my bathroom floor into a papier mache art project from the very worst dreams of Clive Barker himself.

Image

 

Dude, that’s…that’s just messed up.

Anyway.

I got it sorted. Because I’m a survivor, and Korean toilets ain’t shit, yo.

*ahem*

Otherwise, life’s been chilled on this end. I got paid on Monday, then proceeded to discover the frustration and anger and murderous intent that is trying to get a Korean bank teller to help you make credit card and bank account payments. I also, I guess, discovered the automatic guilt reflex that comes with realising you’re an English speaker, at a desk with a Korean guy, getting frustrated with him for speaking his own language, in a city full of people who speak that language, because it isn’t your language.

But I…I just…could he just have not sucked for five seconds while I did important expat things like pay my bills?

Image

Yeah. I get it. This is me.

Anyway, I’m heading in tomorrow with a set of handwritten Korean instructions for this man and his little computer and that stupid money counter of his.

We’ll see.

Anyway, that’s all I got time for right now. I’m still going to update on my latest mission out in Seoul, but I’ll do it when I’ve got a second or two to be descriptive as hell with it 🙂

Later!

~ by dook on September 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
